François-Xavier Roth © Marco Borggreve François-Xavier Roth © Marco Borggreve François-Xavier Roth © Marco Borggreve © Marco Borggreve
Mon, 27 May 2019 20:00
Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Großer Saal SOLD OUT € 10.00 | 15.00 | 30.00 | 41.00 | 47.00 Further Information on Booking Tickets

Lab.Oratorium / Gürzenich Orchester

In their Lab.Oratorium – an experimental blend of drama and oratorio, electro-acoustic audio theatre and orchestral spatial music – the composer Philippe Manoury and the director Nicolas Stemann open a door to the tragedy of refugees. Poems by Ingeborg Bachmann, texts by Elfriede Jelinek and documentary material are used as a point of departure for an exploration of a civilisation that has reached a crossroads. Cologne’s General Music Director François-Xavier Roth conducts a mighty assemblage of choirs and orchestras that includes the Elbphilharmonie’s Chor zur Welt, which was initially formed as a project choir for Syrian refugees and Germans.

»Lab.Oratorium« poses questions and looks for answers: To what extent do we allow this immigration from »outside«? How do we deal with the resulting changes to what we are familiar with? And how does this affect our identity? Because once you’ve seen the photos, you’ll never forget them: the pictures of emaciated figures who hardly have anything other than what they’re wearing, and who use their last ounce of strength to drag themselves on shore and to throw their life jackets onto a pile with the ones discarded there by those who came before them.

»A war rages on the southern and eastern borders of our ghetto of affluence,« argues Navid Kermani. »Each individual refugee is an incursion of reality into our consciousness.« Charges are brought against lifeboat workers due to their humanitarian operations, and the rescue boats are refused permission to come to shore. And even though the number of refugees arriving is declining, populist parties continue to feed on the fear of »foreign infiltration«, thereby promoting inner turmoil in Europe.

Performers

Gürzenich-Orchester Köln

Rinnat Moriah soprano

Tora Augestad mezzo-soprano

Patrycia Ziolkowska actor

Sebastian Rudolph actor

Chor zur Welt

SWR Vokalensemble Stuttgart

IRCAM

Thomas Goepfer computerized musical realisation

conductor François-Xavier Roth

Nicolas Stemann stage director

Programme

Philippe Manoury
Lab.Oratorium / für Stimmen, Orchester und Live-Elektronik

Download programme (German)

Promoter

HamburgMusik

Cooperation

A co-production by Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, IRCAM, Philharmonie de Paris and Elbphilharmonie Hamburg.

François-Xavier Roth François-Xavier Roth François-Xavier Roth © Marco Borggreve
Mo, 27.5.2019 20 Uhr
Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Großer Saal Tickets € 10.00 | 15.00 | 30.00 | 41.00 | 47.00 Weitere Informationen zum Ticketkauf

Lab.Oratorium / Gürzenich Orchester

In ihrem Lab.Oratorium, einer experimentellen Zwischenform zwischen Schauspiel und Oratorium, elektroakustischem Hörtheater und orchestraler Raummusik, stoßen der Komponist Philippe Manoury und der Regisseur Nicolas Stemann eine Luke auf zu der Tragödie von Menschen auf der Flucht. Gedichte von Ingeborg Bachmann, Worte von Elfriede Jelinek und dokumentarisches Material bilden den Ausgangspunkt einer Erkundung unserer Zivilisation am Scheideweg. Der Kölner Generalmusikdirektor François-Xavier Roth steht auf der Brücke des gewaltigen Stimmen- und Orchesterapparats, zu dem auch der Chor zur Welt der Elbphilharmonie gehört, der einst als Projektchor für syrische Geflüchtete und Deutsche begann.

»Lab.Oratorium« stellt Fragen und sucht Antworten: Wie weit lassen wir das Eindringen von »außen« zu? Wie gehen wir um mit den Veränderungen unserer gewohnten Rahmenbedingungen? Und wie berührt dies unsere Identität? Denn, wer sie gesehen hat, den lassen sie nicht mehr los: die Bilder von ausgezehrten Menschen, die kaum mehr mit sich führen als das, was sie am Leibe tragen, und die sich mit letzter Kraft an Land schleppen, wo sie ihre Rettungswesten auf einen Berg werfen, angehäuft von jenen, die ihnen vorangegangen sind.

»Es herrscht Krieg an den südlichen und östlichen Grenzen unseres Wohlstandsghettos «, konstatiert Navid Kermani. »Jeder einzelne Flüchtling ist ein Einbruch der Wirklichkeit in unser Bewusstsein.« Seenotretter werden aufgrund ihres humanitären Einsatzes angeklagt, Rettungsbooten die Landeerlaubnis verweigert. Und obwohl immer weniger ankommen, zehren populistische Parteien nach wie vor von der Angst vor der »Überfremdung« und befördern damit die innere Zerrissenheit Europas.

Künstler

Gürzenich-Orchester Köln

Rinnat Moriah Sopran

Tora Augestad Mezzosopran

Patrycia Ziolkowska Schauspiel

Sebastian Rudolph Schauspiel

Chor zur Welt

SWR Vokalensemble Stuttgart

IRCAM

Thomas Goepfer Computermusikalische Realisation

Dirigent François-Xavier Roth

Nicolas Stemann Regie

Programm

Philippe Manoury
Lab.Oratorium / für Stimmen, Orchester und Live-Elektronik

Veranstalter

HamburgMusik gGmbH

Kooperationen

Koproduktion von Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, IRCAM, Philharmonie de Paris und Elbphilharmonie Hamburg.

Kompositionsauftrag gefördert durch die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung und die Kunststiftung NRW.