Sofiane Saidi & Mazalda Sofiane Saidi & Mazalda Sofiane Saidi & Mazalda © Aurore Vinot
Wed, 1 May 2019 19:30
Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Kleiner Saal Tickets Further Information on Booking Tickets

Blues der Großstadt / Sofiane Saidi & Mazalda

With shimmering beats, guitar and saxophone sounds, and all manner of keyboard psychedelia, the Mazalda Sextet from Lyon conjures up a jungle of sound around the great voice of the mysterious and radiant Sofiane Saïdi, who is known as the »Prince of Raï 2.0«.

»Two souls, alas, are housed within my breast.« A number of contemporary musicians who live in the liminal world between (at least) two cultures might well second this famous exclamation from Goethe’s »Faust«. On the one hand they make music in the traditional styles of their musical forebears – be that raï, which is often called the »blues of Algeria«; the melancholic Finnish tango; the wistful rembetiko sung by the Greeks expelled from Asia Minor; or the klezmer, which remembers the lost world of the Jewish schtetl.

On the other hand, however, these musicians also live in the present, in modern cities such as London, Paris and Berlin, where they soak up new influences and integrate them into the old genres. In the process they create a new blues of the big city – with one foot in the present and the other in the past.

Performers

Sofiane Saidi vocals

Mazalda

Stéphane Cézard saz
Julien Lesuisse saxophone
Adrien Spirli bass
Lucas Spirli keyboard
Moncef Hakim Besseghir percussion
Yann Lemeunier drums

Promoter

HamburgMusik

Sofiane Saidi & Mazalda Sofiane Saidi & Mazalda Sofiane Saidi & Mazalda © Aurore Vinot
Mi, 1.5.2019 19:30 Uhr
Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Kleiner Saal Tickets Weitere Informationen zum Ticketkauf

Blues der Großstadt / Sofiane Saidi & Mazalda

Mit flirrenden Beats, Gitarren- und Saxofonklängen und allerlei Psychedelischem aus den Keyboards zaubert das Sextett Mazalda aus Lyon ein Klangdickicht um die großartige Stimme des Sängers Sofiane Saïdi, genannt »der Prinz des Raï 2.0« – mal strahlend, mal unergründlich und geheimnisvoll.

»Zwei Seelen wohnen, ach!, in meiner Brust.« Diesem berühmten Stoßseufzer aus Goethes »Faust« könnten sich auch viele heutige Musiker anschließen, die sich zwischen (mindestens) zwei Kulturen hin- und hergerissen fühlen. Denn einerseits bewegen sie sich in den traditionellen Stilen ihrer musikalischen Vorfahren – sei es der oft als »Blues Algeriens« bezeichnete Raï, der melancholische finnische Tango, der schwermütige Rembetiko der aus Kleinasien vertriebenen Griechen oder der Klezmer, der die untergegangene Welt jüdischer Schtetl besingt.

Andererseits aber leben diese Musiker nun einmal in der Gegenwart, in modernen Metropolen wie London, Paris oder Berlin, wo sie aktuelle Strömungen aufsaugen und in die alten Genres integrieren. So entsteht hier wie dort ein neuer Blues der Großstadt – mit einem Bein in der Vergangenheit und einem in der Zukunft.

Künstler

Sofiane Saidi vocals

Mazalda

Stéphane Cézard saz
Julien Lesuisse saxophone
Adrien Spirli bass
Lucas Spirli keyboard
Moncef Hakim Besseghir percussion
Yann Lemeunier drums

Programm

Veranstalter

HamburgMusik gGmbH