Jakub Hrůša Jakub Hrůša Jakub Hrůša © Pavel Hejnz
Tue, 28 May 2019 20:00
Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Großer Saal Tickets € 29.10 | 74.10 | 96.60 | 119.10 | 141.60 Further Information on Booking Tickets

Bamberger Symphoniker / Albrecht Mayer / Jakub Hrůša

There are many composers who have left their native country a memorial in music, but it seems unlikely that any other work in music history is such a strong synonym for homeland and identity as Smetana's »Má vlast« (My Homeland). The six-part cycle with its world-famous tone poem »The Moldau« has similar status for the Czech people to a national anthem, and is played every year to mark the opening of the Prague Spring on the anniversary of the composer's death. The Bamberg Symphony, founded in 1946 by former members of the Prague German Philharmonic Orchestra and known for its refined music-making, places the cycle at the end of a programme that master oboist Albrecht Meyer opens with two solo concertos.


Bamberger Symphoniker

Albrecht Mayer oboe

conductor Jakub Hrůša


Edward Elgar
Soliloquy / für Oboe und Orchester

Richard Strauss
Konzert für Oboe und kleines Orchester D-Dur AV 144

- Pause -

Bedřich Smetana
Má vlast (Mein Vaterland) / Sinfonische Dichtung


ProArte / HamburgMusik