The Festival

Already entering its fifth year, the Hamburg International Music Festival once again serves as an illustrious showcase for a musical city. Over four weeks, the great Hamburg orchestras and concert organisers are at their best, presenting a programme of national appeal. This season's motto is »Belief«.

The Programme

High-ranking guests such as Sir John Eliot Gardiner's English Baroque Soloists, Riccardo Chailly and the Filarmonica della Scala, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Yannick Nézet-Séguin, the St Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra, the Welsh bass-baritone Bryn Terfel, many other international soloists and the four big Hamburg orchestras perform important confessional works from all eras of music history as well as compositions outside the confines of the »Belief« motto. As the centrepiece of the festival, Kent Nagano conducts the Hamburg State Opera in three performances of Olivier Messiaen's sole opera, »St. François d’Assise«, and Daniel Harding leads two performances of Mahler's 8th Symphony - the Symphony of a Thousand. There are six concerts exploring the work of the deeply religious Russian composer Sofia Gubaidulina, who lives close to Hamburg. The two opening concerts feature the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra under its chief conductor Alan Gilbert. Conducting doyen Herbert Blomstedt directs three concerts featuring his reading of Mozart's Great C minor Mass, while a trio led by tenor Benedikt Kristjánsson presents an unusual version of Bach's St John Passion. The Swedish Radio Choir, generally regarded as one of the world's best choirs, performs sacred works by Pärt and the Concerto for Choir by Alfred Schnittke. Claude Vivier's »Musik für das Ende« provides the setting for an exciting musical experience put on by the Canadian Ensemble Soundstreams. »The Lichtenberg Figures« is the title of an exciting chamber music recital with the Ictus Ensemble, the contemporary music specialists from Belgium.

Sofia Gubaidulina

This season the International Music Festival devotes its composer spotlight to Sofia Gubaidulina (*1931), the internationally celebrated, deeply religious Russian composer who settled in Appen close to Hamburg in 1992. The festival's opening concert with the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra under its chief conductor Alan Gilbert presents »Der Reiter auf dem weißen Pferd« for large orchestra and organ, a highly dramatic work by Gubaidulina that condenses into the space of ten minutes God's descent to earth and His incarnation, followed by the transfiguration and ascension of Christ. A few days later, Ensemble Resonanz performs her piano concerto entitled »Introitus« together with the Meditation on the Bach chorale »Vor deinen Thron tret' ich hiermit«. The sonic.art saxophone quartet, which gave the first performance of Gubaidulina's »Verwandlung« in Hamburg eleven years ago, is joined by additional soloists in the Elbphilharmonie Recital Hall. The Symphony Orchestra of the Hochschule für Musik und Theater places Gubaidulina's Violin Concerto No. 2 »in tempus präsens« at the centre of its matinee concert. In her »Sonnengesang« the composer makes explicit reference to St Francis of Assisi. The work is performed by the NDR Chor in the St. Katharinen Church. The climax and at the same time the final work of the Gubaidulina spotlight is the oratorio »Über Liebe und Hass«, which was given its premiere just a few years ago. The work is performed here by the Symphoniker Hamburg, the Europa Chor Akademie Görlitz and a quartet of soloists under the baton of Peter Tilling.

Jazz & World Music

Many people persist in the belief that the Elbphilharmonie is just a temple of the Muses where classical music is performed. The Hamburg International Music Festival offers five different opportunities to learn otherwise in the Recital Hall.

Singer-songwriter Blick Bassy from Cameroon recalls in his programme »1958« the freedom fighter Ruben Um Nyobé, who was shot by French colonial troops in that year, and reflects at the same time on Cameroon as it is today. He is accompanied by three musicians playing the trumpet, the trombone, the cello and keyboards.

In a solo performance, the charismatic Italian jazz pianist Stefano Bollani owns up to a guilty pleasure, namely his love of Andrew Lloyd Webber's seventies musical »Jesus Christ Superstar«. The audience can certainly look forward to an extremely entertaining confession, performed with virtuosity.

The next day, five top American jazzers pay the Recital Hall a visit: Dave Liebman (tenor and soprano sax) and Randy Brecker (trumpet) have known each other since forever, and both have influenced the development of jazz, each in his own way, since the 1970s. In their quintet together with Marc Copland (piano), Drew Gress (bass) and Joey Baron (percussion), these masters show jazz fans what amazingly fast improvisations they are still capable of.

After her outstanding November 2018 debut in the Laeiszhalle's »Jazz Piano« series, American pianist Myra Melford returns to Hamburg with her band Snowy Egret. Her quintet includes the fantastic cornet player Ron Miles, who elicited thunderous applause from the Grand Hall audience as part of the Joshua Redman Quartet last summer.

Kindly supported by the Kühne Foundation, the Stiftung Elbphilharmonie as well as the Förderkreis Internationales Musikfest Hamburg.

The Festival Brochure (German only)

Das Festival

Die fünfte Ausgabe des Internationalen Musikfests Hamburg bietet als glanzvoller Abschluss der Hamburger Konzertsaison wieder ein dicht gebündeltes Musikprogramm, das gleichermaßen von den Hamburger Orchestern wie von Gästen aus aller Welt bestritten wird. Unter dem Motto »Glauben« spannt sich ein Bogen von der mittelalterlichen Motette über die große Meisterwerke der geistlichen Musik bis hin zu zeitgenössischen Werken und spannenden Musiktheaterproduktionen.

Das Programm

Hochrangige Gäste wie Sir John Eliot Gardiner mit seinem Monteverdi ChoirRiccardo Chailly und die Filarmonica della Scala, das Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks unter Yannick Nézet-Séguin, die St. Petersburger Philharmoniker, der walisische Bassbariton Bryn Terfel und zahlreiche weitere internationale Solisten bieten bedeutende Bekenntniswerke quer durch die Musikgeschichte. Drei von Kent Nagano geleitete Aufführungen von »St. François d’Assise«, der einzigen Oper von Olivier Messiaen sowie zwei Aufführungen von Gustav Mahlers 8. – der Sinfonie der Tausend – unter Daniel Harding bilden das Herzstück des Musikfests. Das NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester bestreitet mit seinem Chefdirigenten Alan Gilbert das Eröffnungskonzert sowie zwei Aufführungen von Mahlers 9. Sinfonie. Mozarts c-Moll Messe (Dirigent Herbert Blomstedt) steht ebenso auf dem Programm wie Bachs Johannes-Passion in einer Kammerversion für einen einzigen Sänger. Der phantastische Chor des schwedischen Rundfunks ist in einem Konzert mit Werken von Arvo Pärt und Alfred Schnittke zu erleben. Claude Viviers »Glaubst du an die Unsterblichkeit der Seele« bildet den Rahmen für eine spannende musikalische Inszenierung des kanadischen Ensemble Soundstreams. »The Lichtenberg Figures« lautet der Titel eines spannenden Kammermusikabends mit dem Ictus Ensemble, den Neue-Musik-Spezialisten aus Belgien.

Sofia Gubaidulina

Den Komponisten-Schwerpunkt widmet das Musikfest diesmal Sofia Gubaidulina (*1931), der international gefeierten, tief religiösen russischen Komponistin, die sich 1992 vor den Toren der Stadt Hamburg in Appen niederließ. Bereits beim Eröffnungskonzert erklingt mit »Der Reiter auf dem weißen Pferd« für großes Orchester und Orgel ein hochdramatisches Werk Gubaidulinas, das auf zehn Minuten komprimiert die Herabkunft Gottes auf die Erde und die Menschwerdung mit der Verklärung und Himmelfahrt Christi fusioniert. Das Ensemble Resonanz führt ihr »Introitus« genanntes Klavierkonzert auf und die Meditation über den Bach-Choral »Vor deinen Thron tret‘ ich hiermit«. Das sonic.art Saxophonquartett, das bereits vor elf Jahren in Hamburg die Uraufführung des Stücks aus der Taufe hob, kommt mit weiteren Solisten und Gubaidulinas »Verwandlung« in den Kleinen Saal der Elbphilharmonie. Das Symphonieorchester der Hochschule für Musik und Theater rückt Gubaidulinas Violinkonzert Nr. 2 »in tempus präsens« ins Zentrum seines Konzerts. In ihrem »Sonnengesang« bezieht sich die Komponistin explizit auch auf den heiligen Franz von Assisi. Das Werk wird vom NDR Chor in der Hauptkirche St. Katharinen zur Aufführung gebracht. Das erst vor wenigen Jahren uraufgeführte große Oratorium »Über Liebe und Hass« bildet zugleich den Höhepunkt und den Abschluss des Gubaidulina-Schwerpunkts.

Jazz & Weltmusik

Viele Menschen glauben noch immer, die Elbphilharmonie sei eh nur ein Musentempel für klassische Musik. Das Internationale Musikfest Hamburg bietet gleich fünffach Gelegenheit, sich im Kleinen Saal eines Besseren zu belehren.

Der kamerunische Singer-Songwriter Blick Bassy erinnert in seinem Programm »1958« an den Unabhängigkeitskämpfer Ruben Um Nyobé, der im titelgebenden Jahr von französischen Kolonialtruppen erschossen wurde, und reflektiert gleichzeitig über das Kamerun von heute. Begleitet wird er von drei Musikern an Trompete, Posaune, Cello und Keyboards.

In einer Solo-Performance bekennt sich der charismatische italienische Jazz-Pianist Stefano Bollani zu einem »guilty pleasure«, nämlich der Liebe zu Andrew Lloyd Webbers 70er-Jahre-Musical »Jesus Christ Superstar« – eine gewiss extrem unterhaltsame und virtuos vorgetragene Beichte. 

Fünf Hochkaräter des US-amerikanischen Jazz machen im Kleinen Saal Station: Dave Liebman (Tenor- und Sopransaxofon) und Randy Brecker (Trompete) kennen einander seit Urzeiten und haben beide auf ihre Weise den Jazz seit den 70er-Jahren mitgeprägt. In ihrem Quintett mit Marc Copland (Klavier), Drew Gress (Bass) und Joey Baron (Schlagzeug) unterrichten sie die Jazz-Fans über den aktuellen Stand ihres nach wie vor ungeheuer temporeichen altmeisterlichen Improvisierens.

Nach ihrem überragenden Debüt in der Reihe »Jazz Piano« in der Laeiszhalle im November 2018 kehrt die US-amerikanische Pianistin Myra Melford mit ihrer Band Snowy Egret nach Hamburg zurück. Zu ihrem Quintett zählt auch der fantastische Kornettist Ron Miles, der vergangenen Sommer im Quartett mit Joshua Redman das Publikum im Großen Saal zu Begeisterungsstürmen hinriss.
Gefördert durch die Kühne-Stiftung, die Stiftung Elbphilharmonie sowie den Förderkreis Internationales Musikfest Hamburg.

Die Broschüre zum Festival